ICHR signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the University of Toronto in January 2010. This agreement has been a key component in developing and supplementing research policy that informs northern-based research and education.

Setting a Research Agenda

In a partnership between the Dalla Lana School of Public Health, IHPME, and the ICHR, shared efforts to develop a research agenda and training in circumpolar health systems were approached through a circumpolar health research working group that has advocated for governance renewal, and held workshops on research priorities. Efforts have resulted in renewal of a MOU between ICHR and University of Toronto, and a publication highlighting directions for a collaborative research agenda for health systems performance.

Support for Northern-based Faculty

Susan Chatwood, Scientific Director of ICHR, is an assistant professor at the Dalla Lana School of Public Health and an associate member of the School of Graduate Studies. These affiliations recognize ICHR’s role in advising and supervising graduate students and conducting research that conforms to high standards of research integrity. Support for northern-based faculty has enabled ICHR to secure grants from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and become the first northern-based institute to hold these national research funds and enhance the engagement of northern regions in the circumpolar health research dialogue.

This partnership is highlighted in Dalla Lana School of Public Health’s 2014-2015 Annual Report and IHPME’s 2014 Annual Highlights.

U of T:

  • Adalsteinn Brown, Dean, Dalla Lana School of Public Health
  • Dr. Howard Hu, Director and Professor of Public Health Sciences, Dalla Lana School of Public Health
  • Dr. Angela Mashford-Pringle, Assistant Professor and Associate Director for the Waakebiness-Bryce Institute for Indigenous Health, Dalla Lana School of Public Health

ICHR Faculty:

  • Susan Chatwood, Assistant Professor (non-status)